~ .’;l,8888888888u0 ~ [Beef Miso Ramen]

Life is only as beautiful as you want to open your heart. A closed heart will only trap you in a room of darkness.

If you wonder about the title of this entry, this is the story behind it: I’ve been postponing (or we may say procrastinating) this entry for more than 2 weeks just because I can’t make a good title. Ridiculous, isn’t it? But this morning I woke up with a whole lot of positive energy so I thought that this is THE PERFECT DAY to share recipe again. However I still can’t decide on the title. Fortunately my fat Spoes was really hungry for my attention and he came to me, via the keyboard, and helped me making the title. And that’s how we came to an agreement that every time I get into a writer’s block, he must help me or he will not get pet for a day.

Now about the miso ramen: I made this for dinner because I really really really miss Wagamama in Groningen. Their Chili Beef Miso Ramen is delicious and worth every penny you spend on it. Since they don’t exist in my city anymore (and I don’t want to commute every weekend to Amsterdam only to eat there) I thought maybe it’s a good idea to make it myself(?). In the end of the meal I still think it’s a good idea and we spent less money than a train ticket from Groningen to Amsterdam.

This dish consists of 2 elements: the meat and the noodle soup. I’d like to start with the beef first because after the spice rub we can leave it for an hour or so while we make the noodle soup.

Meat part:

I chose skirt steak for this recipe because it’s very tender and relatively thin so it can be cooked in a very short amount of time.

For the spice rub I used: cumin powder, coriander powder, and peterselie powder; mixed in olive oil. Also give generous salt and black pepper rub all over the meat. Leave it in a room temperature while we make the noodle soup.

Noodle soup:

I used ramen noodle, cooked it according to the instruction on the package. Then rub it with a little sesame oil before putting it in a bowl (for extra aroma and prevent them from sticking to each other). If it’s the end of the month and you are quite short of money, don’t hesitate to use any alternative noodles like egg noodle.

For the broth I simply used white miso paste. Add the paste into boiling beef stock and adjust the amount you use according to your taste. For more colour and saltiness, pour i-2 tbs of Kikkoman soy sauce. If you use cubed beef stock, be careful on the soy sauce as the cubed stock is most of time already quite salty.

Prepare the vegetables of your choice. I chose carrot, mushroom, red onion, and spring onion. Cut them around 2-3 cm and blanch before serving.

Assembling time!

Grill the meat medium rare (or whatever your preference is) and rest them wrapped in aluminium foil for 3-5 minutes.

Put noodles and blanched vegetables in a big bowl and arrange it as pretty/artsy as you can.

Pour in the warm soup.

Serve thinly sliced meat on top of the noodles (don’t lose the meat juice! Pour it over the meat)

If you want it more spicy, give it a hint of chili powder or sliced red Spanish pepper.

Enjoy!

xx

Nisa

End note: This entry is dedicated to one of my friend who just discovered the beauty of Asian supermarket. I hope you enjoy this recipe, Alicja! 😉

 

 

Leave a Reply

