~Friends Forever~ [Beef and Shrimp One Pot Curry]

People come and go, best friends stay forever.

When I was a teenager I always wondered how could people around me stayed in a large group of friends and called each other best friends. As a person with strange personality, I always find it hard to find someone to be called friend. There are acquaintance, colleagues, siblings; but friends (or even harder- best friends) are hard to find. That is why the fact that those people can easily called each other ‘my bestie’ is really out of my logic.

The description of friend might be vary from person to person. For me at least I have to feel at ease when I’m with them. You know, sometimes we have this awkward and tense feeling around some people. Or the feeling that you have to look/sound interesting to someone/ a group of people. Those kind of feelings must not be present when I’m being with my friends. We can just talk whenever we want, or enjoy the silence. We can call each other with funny names without feeling offended. We can be annoyed by each other, but still hug and make sure that everything is cool in the end of the night.

Distance also should not be a big problem for friendship. One of my best friend lives 600 km away from me, and the other one is 11.200 km away. We talk to each other almost everyday that when we visit it really doesn’t feels like we have been so long apart. I miss them, of course. But I know that they always within my reach whenever, and that is one of the best feeling the world. They also know that they can always contact me (thanks Facebook!) even for the stupidest reason.

Lately my mood is not very amusing and somehow there are some people who magically reached out to me. It was really a simple gesture, but it helped me a lot. Short messages calling me to catch up/lunch/hangout made me feel that life is actually not that bad (yet). Giving advises to my friends (or sharing recipes) kind of makes me forget about my own problems and distract me from annoying thoughts.

And my ultimate best friend? Meet Spoes. He is the all in one: my baby, my cuddle buddy, my belly warmer, and my scratching rival. 2014-09-02-15-47-37_deco[1]

 “Purr purr stoopid human gib me food purr purr. Nao be mai pirrouww. Purr purr.” – Spoes dub by Edo. But I’m still sure that we love each other, kinda. Or at least I love him and he wants food from me.

When in perfect world we found friends and best friends as easy as we found mistakes in your student’s assignments, that’s not how it works in real life. We have to charm the friend candidate with our wittiness, looks, or cooking. Today’s recipe is very easy to make (with minimal dish washing) and hopefully can help you find (best)friends, especially if you are the new kid in the block! 😉

One pot tomato-based beef and shrimp curry

Ingredients:

– 300 g of beef (cut into even square)

– 200 g of shrimp

– 200 g of mixed vegetables (I use carrot, broccoli, and cauliflower)

– 140 g tomato paste

– 500 ml water

– 2 tsp cumin

– 2 tsp Curcuma

– 1 big onion (thinly sliced)

– 4 cloves of garlic (crush’em!)

– 1 handful of coriander (roughly chopped)

– oil

– salt, pepper, and sugar to taste

How to cook:

Heat up 2 tbs of oil in a big pan. Brown the sides of the beef, then set aside. Cover the beef with aluminium foil to keep them warm.

Saute onion slices and garlic until onion appears transparent and fragrant. Add 2 tsp of cumin and Curcuma. Mix well.

Add tomato paste. Mix thoroughly, then add 500 ml of water. Bring water to a boil for 10 minutes.

Put the beef back to the pan, bring back water to boil for 10 minutes.

Turn down the heat to very low. Simmer gently for 1-2 hours with the lid on (usually 1 h is enough to make the beef tender, but the longer you simmer the more tender your beef will turn out. This step depends on your hunger level).

Add vegetables 30 minutes before you plan to end the cooking process. Start with the hardest vegetables (carrot, for instance) and end with the softest one. Make sure that your vegetables are nicely softened according to your taste.

Add shrimp shortly before you end the cooking process. They cooked pretty fast and an overly cooked shrimp will have rubbery texture. Be careful.

Adjust the taste with salt, pepper, and sugar. If you want to loosen up the sauce a little, you can add few tbs of water before seasoning.

Turn off the heat. Add roughly chopped coriander.

Serve with couscous.

2014-09-18-11-20-21_deco[1] 2014-09-16-21-20-31_deco[1]

Up: Curry served on couscous. Couscous is very easy to prepare even my boyfriend can do it :p It also absorb all the deliciousness of the curry sauce. This is the perfect combination for dinner in a chilly evening (too bad it was not chilly on the day when we had this)

Bottom: The holy bowl of beef-shrimp curry.

We are actually still have an argument whether to call this dish curry or stew. I think it should be called curry because of the cumin and Curcuma. What do you think, guys?

xx

Nisa

2 thoughts on “~Friends Forever~ [Beef and Shrimp One Pot Curry]

Leave a Reply

