~To the Next Level~ [Grilled Salmon with Bean Sprout Stir Fry]

Nggak ada noda ya nggak belajar

quoted from a famous Indonesian detergent commercial

 

It literally means “no spot, no learning”. That’s basically what I’m doing recently: trying to find my way in this new world called blogging.

Yesterday I finally bought a customization package from WordPress. As you can see I finally got a beautiful pink nature-themed background. It doesn’t come very cheap, but worth a try since (hopefully) a beautiful visual will result in more motivation to write and do more blog walking. There’s no such thing as a cheap hobby anyway.. or at least I don’t believe that such things exist.

Another thing is I’m trying to arrange some widgets on the right side of the blog lay out. So far I got my bio, latest post, and the following button (so you can follow my blog easier 😉) placed correctly. I’m still trying to link my twitter with this blog, but it’s still not working properly.

Last but not least. I just realized that there is an option called ‘Featured Image’ which I can use to put the picture from my cooking experiment on the very top of my entry. I think it will give a better look for the lay out. But I’m open for any suggestion, just leave it in the comment box or find me on twitter (@nisamonchu).

As for today’s recipe, I’m very into eating light foods lately. Maybe it’s the weather, my body weight, or my hormon balance, but I really lose my appetite for the heavily-spiced foods. For this reason I chose to cook grilled salmon with stir fried bean sprouts. The buttery taste yet high of good nutritional values in salmon makes it a perfect choice for dinner. The stir fried bean sprouts is also a very easy dish to make. It only requires 2 minutes of cutting and  5 minutes of stir frying. Done and done.  

Japanese-inspired grilled salmon with bean sprouts stir fry

Ingredients:

– Salmon (~180 gr/slice)

– 200 gr bean sprouts

– 1 clove of garlic

– 1 shallots

– 2 spring onions

– Kikkoman soy sauce

– Sunflower oil

– Sesame oil

– Salt and pepper

How to cook:

Grilled salmon

Rub salt or all spices powder on both sides of the salmon.

Heat 1 tbs of oil on the grill pan. When the pan is hot, put the salmon skin side down for 3 minutes. Flip it, then grill for another 3 minutes.

The salmon should look nicely light browned on the sides. It would be better if you could achive the crispy skin. I think you should play a little with the heat to get there.  

Bean sprouts stir fry

Thinly slice garlic and shallot. Diagonally slice spring onions with 1 cm length for the green part, and 0.5 cm for the white part.

Heat the sunflower oil in a pan. When the oil is hot, throw in the garlic and shallot, then sautee it until fragrance.

When garlic and shallot are looking transparent and fragrant, add the bean sprouts into the pan. Pour in Kikkoman soy sauce (around 2 tbs) and mix thoroughly. Bean sprouts will be cooked very fast so keep an eye while stir frying them. Add pepper and adjust the amount of soy sauce according to your taste (the Kikkoman soy sauce is containing salt, so we don’t have to add salt into this dish).

After bean sprouts became tender, turn off the heat. Add in the spring onions while the pan is still hot. Sprinkle a splash of sesame oil for extra aroma. Mix thoroughly.

Side notes:

– I rubbed my salmon with all spice powder. But then I think the powder got burnt really fast, and that’s why the surface of my fish look blackened. But actually it didn’t taste burn at all and the inner part of the fish was still nicely pink and buttery. If you want to get a better looking presentation then I suggest you to stick with salt. It taste better too. 

– I served this dish with pickled ginger (see the pink thing on top of the rice). It functioned as a tastebud cleaner after you ate the fish. This will help you to enjoy every different flavours from the dish, especially because we have lighter flavour from the sprouts.

So this is it for today. I wish you luck in the kitchen and remember to have fun!

xx

Nisa   

 

Leave a Reply

