~Holy-moly!~ [Noodle soup with beef and champignon mushroom]

I do not refuse to be mature. I refuse to lose excitement in life.

When was the last time you got excited over something? For me it was 30 minutes ago while I was making my weekly flower bouquet.

I bought these randomly selected flowers for EU 5 at the market. I didn’t know what kind of flowers exactly would be in the package (I could see its colours, though..).Ā  Only at home I realised that this package consisted of 3 different flowers which one of them I found very different from my usual flower pick.

2014-06-21-17-26-16_deco[1]The long stem purple flowers are very pretty yet different. It kind of reminds me of tentacles (especially if you see the small stems around the main stem). Anyone knows the name of this flower? Please let me know via the comment box or my twitter account (@nisamonchu)! šŸ˜‰

The other 2 flowers are not that special, but I managed to created small yet cute bouquets out of it (one you can see as the small arrangement behind the purple flowers). So proud of myself! (self high-five)

Another thing that excited me this week was at the time when I accidentally parked my bicycle next to my boyfriend’s at the hospital. At the time i parked my bike I was just trying to find a decent spot and there was one with a nice positioned bike next to it. I thought ‘ah finally someone not being a douche in the parking lot’ and put my bike happily in the rack. Then I left without noticing. Only after lunch and I was going to take my bicycle back home I realized that I recognized the ‘nicely positioned bike’ and it was my boyfriend’s! Talk about fate…

20140617_133406[1] Left: his bike. Right: mine. I wonder what did they do when we were out for lunch.

With an easily excited attitude like this, sometimes I think if I’m being childish. But I think it’s important to keep excitement in life otherwise I will live in boredom for let’s say.. 80 years. Do I really want that? Nope.

On another note, I keep reminding myself that this blog was created as a food related blog. So here we go with the cooking part šŸ˜‰

Noodle soup with beef and champignon mushroom

Ingredients:

– 150 gr ground beef

– 6 champignon mushroom

– 1 shallot

– 2 cloves garlic

– 1 red chilli

– 1 spring onion

– 120 gr egg noodles

– 2 tbs oyster sauce

– 1 tbs sweet soy sauce

– 1/2 tbs sesame oil

– 1 tbs sunflower oil

How to cook:

Dice onion, garlic, and red chilli.

Thinly slice the mushrooms and spring onion.

Heat 1 tbs of sunflower oil in a pan. We don’t need a lot of oil since the ground beef will produce some oil during the cooking process. Put onion, garlic, and red chilli into the heated oil, fry for 1-2 minutes or until fragrance.

Put the ground beef into the pan and fry it until it changes colour, then add the mushroom slices.

Add 2 tbs of oyster sauce and 1 tbs of sweet soy sauce. Mix thoroughly. Add 150-200 ml of water and let it boil. After boiling, turn down the heat and simmer this soup for 10 minutes or until it thickened. Adjust the taste with salt (not so much because oyster sauce is usually taste quite salty already), white pepper, and sugar.

While your soup is simmering down, boil the egg noodles according to the package instruction. Make sure that it is cooked al dente (mushy noodles are disgusting and crispy noodles only taste good for elementary school kids – remember Anak Mas?) Drain the water when it is done and toss a little sesame oil on it for extra aroma and to prevent it from getting sticky to each other.

Arrange the noodles in a bowl then pour the soup over it. Lastly, add some spring onions and it will be ready for a warm and homie dinner. It will taste even better if you add a soft-boiled or poached egg into the noodle soup. The oozing egg yolk always taste delicious in combination with the beef and mushrooms.

2014-06-21-20-38-38_deco[1]

Dinner, finally.. I’m so hungry omnomnom

As always, have fun in the kitchen and don’t worry about changing/adjust this recipe to fit your taste better. Enjoy your food!

xx

Nisa

3 thoughts on “~Holy-moly!~ [Noodle soup with beef and champignon mushroom]

  1. Pingback: Beef, mushroom and paprika soup (Asian-inspired) | Alice runs!

Leave a Reply

