~First Impression~ [smoked mackerel salad & baked potato with cream]

Today in Groningen, 22 degree Celsius (feels like: sauna).

Hi! my name is Nisa. I love cooking, but it’s the end of spring here and the temperature rise everyday. The two things I can think of are cold, refreshing foods like salads, watermelon, ice creams.. and a nice picnic.

20140612_183412

This is the park close to my studio. It’s not a big park, but there’s a pond with ducks and geese. There are also a lot of people walk their dogs here. Not to forget the handsome-fit guys who jog/run/picnic/sunbath all over the park.

For today I think that nothing will taste better for dinner than something light with a nice accent of smoked fish. So I decided to made the fresh salad with smoked mackerel and some baked potato as the carbs source. Carbs will make you full, happy belly = happy body.

Here comes the recipes:

Smoked mackerel salad

– Smoked mackerel (cut to bite size)

– Rucola

– Cherry tomatoes

– Green olives

– Feta cheese

– Red pesto

How to cook:

Mix everything in a bowl. Adjust the amount of ingredients according to your taste. Keep cool in a fridge before serving.

Baked potato with cream

– 4 small potatoes

– 200 gr fresh cream

– 2 eggs

– 1 big onion (or 2 small ones)

– 1 tbs mustard (use good mustard only! I used Groningen mustard for sharp taste)

– 5 slices of (turkey) bacon (optional for extra crunch)

– parmesan cheese

How to cook:

Preheat the oven to 200 degree Celsius.

Cut the potatoes into thin slices. Arrange in a baking dish.

Fry bacon slices until slightly crunchy. Set aside on a kitchen towel to absorb the excess oil.

Sauté the diced slices onion until it change colour and fragrance. Add the fresh cream. Stir until the cream melt and everything blend nicely. Add mustard and adjust the taste with salt and pepper. Turn off the heat.

Add 2 beaten eggs and bacon slices into the onion and cream mixture. Stir thoroughly before pouring it into the baking dish.

Make sure all the potato is covered with cream. Sprinkle the top with parmesan cheese as much as you like.

Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes. The cheese will be nice and crusty.

Results:

20140612_181725 20140612_181311

My baked potato was a little burnt on the top, but if you keep eyes on your oven while cooking and try not to focus too much on your TV, I guarantee a better looking presentation than mine.

As a precaustion (while we are still in my first entry), I will be very carefree with the amount of ingreadients that I use in my recipe. I think cooking is about feeling and balancing the taste. If I think 1 tbs of mustard gives enough punch, it may be different for you. So be confident and trust your gut (belly?) instinct. … and don’t forget to taste EVERYTHING during the cooking process!

Behind the scene

My kitchen was a big mess this afternoon, so my very very nice friend, Emeraldo, came to help me washing the dishes. My cat was also being a big help with watching him cleaning so he didn’t slack off.

20140612_145509

Cat: I’m watching you, son. Emeraldo: Yes, Master.

My boyfriend joined the picnic after work. He loves his purple blanket.

20140612_183135

Guess his favourite colour?

I think this is the end of my first entry. I hope I won’t burn anything in the next recipes (stop watching Bondi Rescue during cooking time!) and the weather will be better (like, less hot) soon.

xx

Nisa

 

Leave a Reply

